About Us

The International Association of Genocide Scholars is a global, interdisciplinary, non-partisan organization that seeks to further research and teaching about the nature, causes, and consequences of genocide, and advance policy studies on genocide prevention.

The Association, founded in 1994, meets regularly to consider comparative research, important new work, case studies, the links between genocide and other human rights violations, and prevention and punishment of genocide. The Association holds biennial conferences and co-publishes the scholarly journal Genocide Studies and Prevention. A central aim of the Association is to draw academics, activists, artists, genocide survivors, journalists, jurists, public policy makers, and other colleagues into the interdisciplinary study of genocide, with the goal of prevention.

The Srebrenica-Potočari Memorial & Cemetery in Potočari. Photo Credit: Melanie O'Brien
Auschwitz I Camp - Oswiecim, Poland Photo Credit: Adam Jones

Our History

The International Association of Genocide Scholars (IAGS) was founded in 1994. Initially, the organization was called the Association of Genocide Scholars. The Association’s first conference was held in 1995 at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. Helen Fein was elected President and Roger Smith Vice- President. In recognition of the rapid growth and global interest in genocide studies, the organization was renamed the International Association of Genocide Scholars in 2001. In 2006, the IAGS launched its official journal, Genocide Studies and Prevention. Since 1995, the IAGS has hosted conferences all over the world, including its most recent conference in 2017 in Brisbane, Australia.

IAGS Boards & Committees

Executive Board

The Executive Board is responsible for the management of IAGS.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board provides advice to the Executive Board on IAGS business and genocide issues.

IAGS Committees

Resolutions, Members and Communications Committees.


By-Laws regulate and guide the structure and practice of IAGS.


IAGS past Executive and Advisory Boards.

IAGS Awards

IAGS has since its formation presented awards to honor both innovations in and the engaged practice of genocide scholarship. In 2017, these awards were consolidated into four categories: the Emerging Scholar Prize; the Engaged Scholar Prize; the Prize for the Arts; and the IAGS Lifetime Achievement Award. These awards are presented at the IAGS biennial conference and celebrate individuals who make exemplary contributions to the field of genocide studies.